22 BSP men join Lok Jan Shakti

Hyderabad, July 21: Andhra Pradesh Dalit Liberation Front on Saturday demanded that State government reserve the zilla parishad chairpersons' posts in Karimnagar, Nalgonda and Medak districts for scheduled castes in accordance with the rule of reservation.

Speaking to mediapersons here, APDLF president Ch Anand Kumar said the three districts had a higher percentage of SC population than in East Godavari, West Godavari and Krishna districts as per the Census. According to the Panchayat Raj Act, constituencies with highest SC population had to be reserved for them.

He said the government had also not followed the mandatory rotation system in implementing reservations and threatened to move the court if injustice done to the SCs was not rectified.

Tribune News Service

Faridabad, July 21 Several workers of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) joined the 'Lok Jan Shakti' here today. Those who joined the BSP included the district unit president of the BSP, Mr Prem Mehta. According to Dr Lal Singh, Chairman parliamentary board of the Lok Jan Shakti and Mr Dinesh Malik, district unit chief, 22 active members of the BSP joined their party today. They claimed that a similar number of local leaders and workers of other parties, including that of the Congress and the BSP had joined the party a few days ago. Dr Lal Singh claimed that the Lok Jan Shakti's base was growing and it was becoming stronger.

Those who joined the party in a press statement said there was no 'democracy' and respect for individual in their party so they had decided to work under guidance of Mr Ram Bilas Paswan. Meanwhile Mr Prem Mehta has been nominated as secretary of the youth wing of state unit of the Lok Jan Shakti

Print this Page
Print this Page
Referred by:Mukundan CM
Published on: July 22, 2001
Send e-mail to dalits@ambedkar.org with questions or comments about this web site.
No Copyright: dalit e-forum