RPI rejects statue review panel

12th Sept. 2000
Tribune, Ludhiana edition

LUDHIANA, Sept 11 - The state unit of the Republican Party of India (RPI) has rejected the Constitution Review Commission, describing it as 'un-constitutional and 'undemocratic'. Further, the party said the commission might damage the secular fibre of the country and adversely affect the rights of the minorities and Dalits.

Addressing a 'save Constitution' convention, organised by the state unit of the party here on Sunday, the national president of RPI, Mr Ram Das Athawale observed that the exercise of the Constitution review was a dangerous move, which, if given effect, could have far-reaching repurcussions on the unity and integrity of the country.

The convention, presided over by the state president Mr Mukhtiar Singh Arsi, adopted several resolutions, demanding the imposition of a ban on the RSS the Vishwa Hindu Parishad, Bajrang Dal, Shiv Sena and other communal outfits, inciting caste politics, separate reservation for women belonging to the Scheduled Castes and scheduled tribes out of 33 per cent reservation for women, ceiling on movable and immovable property, nationalisation of entire cultivable land and industries and completion of backlog of reserved posts.

The party called upon the government to reconstruct the demolished Babri Masjid at Ayodhya, to hand over control of Mahabodhi Vihar in Budh Gaya (Bihar) and Valmiki Tirath in Amritsar to Valmikis.

The convention lashed the government for atrocities against the minorities and asked the government to grant a minimum compensation of Rs 10 lakh to each affected family and provide government job to one member of the family. Through other resolutions adopted at the convention, the RPI urged the enactment of the Reservation Implementation Act, the adoption of Mandal Commission report, the implementation of reservation in private educational institution and ensuring employment for every citizen.

Among others, the national secretary Mr Kumar Sain Bodh, Mr Subhash Disawar, Dr Gopal, Dr Amar Nath Mudki, Mr Bihari Lal Khar, Mr Banwari Lal Chauhan, Mr Darshan Singh, Mr Pritam Singh Chahal, Mr Jagdish Kumar Jogi and Mr Makhan Singh attended.

Send e-mail to dalits@ambedkar.org with questions or comments about this web site.
No Copyright 2000 dalit e-forum Last modified: September 21, 2000